Connect with us


DC vs GT, IPL 2023

DC Vs GT IPL '2023

DC vs GT, IPL 2023 Highlights: Sai Sudharsan leads clinical Gujarat Titans to six-wicket win over Delhi Capitals

DC vs GT, IPL 2023 Highlights: Gujarat Titans defeated Delhi Capitals by six wickets in the IPL here on Tuesday. Chasing 162, Gujarat Titans were 54/3 inside the Powerplay but Sai Sudharsan anchored the chase with a fighting 48-ball 62 not out. He shared a match-winning 56-run unbroken stand with David Miller (31 not out; 16b) as they romped home with 11 balls to spare. Earlier, Gujarat Titans came up with a disciplined bowling effort to restrict Delhi Capitals to 162/8. Wily Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan was the pick of GT bowlers (3/31) while fiery pace duo of Mohammed Shami (3/41) and Alzarri Joseph (2/29) gave a fine start after skipper Hardik Pandya opted to bowl.

The Delhi Capitals, led by Australia’s David Warner, suffered a 50-run defeat at the hands of LSG, and a couple of major concerns for DC are a poor bench strength and a lack of good Indian pacers.

Having lost their opening game to Lucknow Super Giants, the Delhi Capitals will look to get their first won on board when they face a stern challenge against defending champions Gujarat Titans at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Tuesday.

Chetan Sakariya went for 53 runs in four overs while taking two wickets, and Khaleel Ahmed finished with figures of 2/30 against LSG. Mukesh Kumar registered figures of 0/34.

The Capitals were clearly missing South Africa’s Anrich Nortje, who missed the team’s opener owing to national duties.

See also  CSK vs PBKS IPL 2023

Nortje, in fact arrived in India along with fellow South Africans David Miller and Lungi Ngidi, so that means is all but available for the game against GT on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, GT sustained a big injury blow after Kane Williamson, who was injured while attempting a catch against CSK, has been ruled out of the rest of the season. And Williamson’s absence means it leaves a space for David Miller in the XI.

DC head coach Ricky Ponting, meanwhile, will have to rejig the combination a bit.

May be drop Sakariya and get Mustafizur Rahaman, an experienced international campaigner in the bowling unit. In that case, Rilee Rossouw will have to sit out.

In the batting department, skipper David Warner would like to see the Indian youngsters like Prithvi Shaw and Sarfaraz Khan handle raw pace better than they did while encountering Mark Wood.

Both looked uncomfortable and short of ideas as one didn’t have his bat come down in time while the other just managed to avoid a head injury while getting into a tangle, playing the ramp shot.

Sarfaraz nor being picked for Test squad has been questioned by many but it is widely believed, even at the top level in the BCCI, that the Mumbaikar has serious technical issues against the short-pitched deliveries above 138 to 140 clicks.

The duo will have to do much better if DC don’t want to lose early momentum.

Against DC, Mohammed Shami and Pandya will pose a different challenge. With Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal and ever consistent Rashid Khan for company, it will be a challenge for DC batters.

See also  Ayush Badoni says, “Gambhir backed me and advised me.”

DC’s main problem is Indian bench strength and perhaps not having good enough ones to be substituted as ‘impact players’.

The likes of Ripal Patel, Lalit Yadav and Aman Hakim Khan are decent domestic players but without X factor.


Follow me on Twitter


Cricket News



Latest News

More in Cricket

  • PBKS vs RR IPL 2023 PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    Jaiswal, Padikkal and Hetmyer’s cameos help RR beat PBKS by 4 wickets IPL 2023...

  • Kohli-42 Kohli-42

    SRH vs RCB IPL 2023

    Kohli’s 100 sends Royal Challengers Bangalore to 4th position in points table SRH vs...

  • PBKS vs DC IPL 2023 PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    Delhi Capitals win by 15 runs Punjab Kings faced Delhi Capitals in high-voltage match of IPL on...

  • LSG vs MI IPL 2023 LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    Mohsin Khan defends 11 in final over as Lucknow beat Mumbai by 5 runs...