Connect with us


IPL 2022 : Venues for group stage matches

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has confirmed that the India Premier League group will be played in India ‘unless the COVID-19 hits the roof’.

Ahmedabad and Lucknow will be the two new teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 . At least 74 league matches will be played in this edition.

In an interview with Sportstar, Ganguly revealed the group league of the tournament will be held across Maharashtra – Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and Pune. While the venue for knockout games will be taken later.

“It will be held in India this year, until and unless the COVID-19 hits the roof. So far, it has been decided that the IPL will be played in India. As far as venues are concerned, we are looking at hosting the matches in Maharashtra – Mumbai and Pune. We will then take a call on the venue for the knockout stages,” Ganguly said on Wednesday.

There are three stadiums available in Mumbai – Wankhede, DY Patil and Brabourne and also one stadium in Pune. Because of Covid-19 it won’t be an easy task for the officials to host full tournament. Last year United Arab Emirates (UAE) hosted the second half of the tournament.

The mega IPL Auction will be held in Bengaluru on February 12-13. This year 590 Players have been shortlisted for the Auction.

See also  IPL 2022: Mahela Jayawardene recommends third umpire intervention in above-waist no-ball

Follow me on Twitter


Cricket News



Latest News

More in IPL

  • PBKS vs RR IPL 2023 PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    Jaiswal, Padikkal and Hetmyer’s cameos help RR beat PBKS by 4 wickets IPL 2023...

  • Kohli-42 Kohli-42

    SRH vs RCB IPL 2023

    Kohli’s 100 sends Royal Challengers Bangalore to 4th position in points table SRH vs...

  • PBKS vs DC IPL 2023 PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    Delhi Capitals win by 15 runs Punjab Kings faced Delhi Capitals in high-voltage match of IPL on...

  • LSG vs MI IPL 2023 LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    Mohsin Khan defends 11 in final over as Lucknow beat Mumbai by 5 runs...