Connect with us


IPL set to return to old ways from 2023

IPL 2023

IPL 2023 is set to return to old ways. 16 edition of IPL will go back to the old timings that were in place till the 10 edition of IPL. IPL will commence at 4 pm and 8 pm IST. Current IPL match timings are 3:30 pm and 7:30 PM.

Current IP match timings are in place because of a request made by Star. Viewership reasons have forced the star to make a request to BCCI. IPL telecast rights with the star would end this season and BCCI has made it clear in its bidding details about match timings.

Currently, telecast rights for IPL 2023-27 broadcast rights bidding are underway. The deadline for purchasing the bidding documents is the 20 of May. But, ISA learned that the deadline is set to change. Bidders have been instructed about match timings to be at 4 pm and 8 pm because of which next year IPL would be seeing matches at 4 pm and 8 pm

The final of IPL 2022 is on the 29 of May, Ahmeadad will be hosting the finals. Due to the pandemic current IPL season league matches are played only in Mumbai and Pune. Eden Gardens will host Eliminator and Qualifier 1. Apart from the finals, Ahmedad will also host Qualifier 2.

Bidding Value of 32,800 crores:

BCCI has set the value for 5-year IPL telecast rights to 32,890 crores. The price is inclusive of Television and digital rights. Star India, Sony, Amazon, Zee, Dream ii, Super Sports, and Sky have purchased bidding documents. Early in June BCCI will award telecast rights of IPL for the next 5 seasons.

See also  IPL 2022 | Ravi Shastri advices Virat Kohli to pull out of IPL


Follow me on Twitter


Cricket News



Latest News

More in IPL

  • PBKS vs RR IPL 2023 PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    Jaiswal, Padikkal and Hetmyer’s cameos help RR beat PBKS by 4 wickets IPL 2023...

  • Kohli-42 Kohli-42

    SRH vs RCB IPL 2023

    Kohli’s 100 sends Royal Challengers Bangalore to 4th position in points table SRH vs...

  • PBKS vs DC IPL 2023 PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    Delhi Capitals win by 15 runs Punjab Kings faced Delhi Capitals in high-voltage match of IPL on...

  • LSG vs MI IPL 2023 LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    Mohsin Khan defends 11 in final over as Lucknow beat Mumbai by 5 runs...