Connect with us


Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians, Match 7

WPL Match 7

Mumbai Indians comprehensively defeated Delhi Capitals in a low-scoring match as they emerged victorious by eight wickets. The two in-form sides locked horns at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai in the seventh match of the ongoing Women’s Premier League (WPL) on Thursday, March 9.

Prior to the clash, the two sides were riding high on the back of two consecutive wins in the league phase. However, Mumbai extended their dominance to three wins as they handed the Meg Lanning-led Delhi Capitals their first loss in the lucrative T20 league.

Opting to bat first, Lanning’s decision seemed to have backfired as the side bundled out for just 105 runs on the board. Skipper Lanning tried to put up a tough fight but found little to no help from the rest of the unit in the first innings.

Having lost three wickets for just 31 runs, Jemimah Rodrigues, who came down the middle-order stitched a 50-run partnership with Lanning. However, that seemed to be the only highlight as the partnership was cut-short by purple-cap holder Saika Ishaque. Meanwhile, Hayley Matthews, Issy Wong and Ishaque racked up three wickets each whereas Pooja Vastrakar got one to her name to wrap up the innings.

Mumbai Indians extend winning streak

In response to the paltry total, openers Yastika Bhatia and Hayley Matthews worked in tandem to hand the side a major head start. The duo continued to extend the side’s dominance as both got 65 runs for the first wicket before Bhatia was dismissed by Tara Norris.

See also  Rohit Sharma - Dropped from 2011 WC - shares his story

Matthews (32 off 31 balls) got a few boundaries before she was sent packing by Alice Capsey after mis-timing one to long off. With five overs to go, Nat Sciver-Brunt and skipper Harmanpreet Kaur steered the side to their third win in the WPL. Mumbai Indians play UP Warriorz in their next clash at the Brabourne Stadium on March 12 and will be gunning to add two more points from the fixture.


Follow me on Twitter


Cricket News



Latest News

More in Cricket

  • PBKS vs RR IPL 2023 PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    PBKS vs RR IPL 2023

    Jaiswal, Padikkal and Hetmyer’s cameos help RR beat PBKS by 4 wickets IPL 2023...

  • Kohli-42 Kohli-42

    SRH vs RCB IPL 2023

    Kohli’s 100 sends Royal Challengers Bangalore to 4th position in points table SRH vs...

  • PBKS vs DC IPL 2023 PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    PBKS vs DC IPL 2023

    Delhi Capitals win by 15 runs Punjab Kings faced Delhi Capitals in high-voltage match of IPL on...

  • LSG vs MI IPL 2023 LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    LSG vs MI IPL 2023

    Mohsin Khan defends 11 in final over as Lucknow beat Mumbai by 5 runs...